top of page
Writer's pictureAnushka Sharma

MEN'S DAY 19th November

Writing and composing this piece was one of the most challenging tasks I have faced till now. Being a woman, it is much easier to write and think in a woman's perspective. Just how it has actually been proved that it is easier for men to narrate a story from a man’s perspective compared to the other sex. In this article, I would like to pay a small tribute to the men who have contributed to empowering women by making their own societal norms, fighting the existing ones while building themselves and, battling their personal fears at the same time.

For every time anyone said that girls can not travel alone in a country like ours, he asked me to plan a trip.

For every time they spoke about physical strength and protection, he taught me a few kicks after his karate class.

For every time I told him that my life was controlled and opinionated by adults who thought they knew best for me, he asked me to voice my opinion even louder.

Every time anyone stereotyped a ‘boy’s’ taste and told me I was similar to the opposite gender, he told me I had created my own identity.

Every time my clothes seemed to be shorter than my knees and I was ashamed to walk, he told me that my clothes were not controlled by their vision.


Have selected a few men I have known closely to observe them keenly. I have tried to articulate their best qualities through some candid shots and their thoughts.

Honesty -

What is your biggest fear? That my honesty will be sold to the world in bitter times.

Passion -

What is your ideal life going to look like? I want a house where I can relax all day and do not need to work harder for earning my bread, I would rather earn and stock up for the rest of my life.

Diligent -

What is the one motto you like to follow? You never give your 100 if you have a Plan B

Patience -

What are the things you do to work on yourself? Patience and self-awareness.

Tireless -

What is the one question you ask yourself if you are stuck with a challenge? Is it worth the pain or not.

Dignity -

Where do you see yourself in 5 Years? Enjoying every bit of life just like right now

The percentage of male chauvinistic dominant population has not been eradicated but has considerably gone down and it helps me regain my faith in equality.

39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page