top of page
Writer's pictureAnushka Sharma

DELLY BELLY - A PAGE FROM MY JOURNAL

Writing for me is like a song for a composer, and of course, it requires a lot of artistic research before one can pin down thoughts into a blog post, atleast that is how I usually procastinate. This time I tried experimenting with my feed and hence chose to experiment with my writing as well. Getting out of comfort zone is something I always choose to talk about and staying in Delhi definitely pushed me out of my comfort couch. Bangalore, became less estranged every year as I came back from my vacations. Exploring cafes, eateries and breweries were our favorite weekend pastimes. It's weather, language, crowd and even public transport seemed to recognize me more than I had stayed there. Maybe it was a longing to find a home that I found one there, after staying there for 5 long years. Just when I had designated it the apostle of calling it home I had to move out, to "move on". (Talking in millennial lingos seems like I am talking in another language itself ) Moving to another city requires a lot of patience courage and is a challenge in itself. So moving to Delhi with a language that was the only prerequisite I had carried apart from a bag full of hope. Soon, after coming here I got accustomed to the metro which I had traveled earlier in, and it became my second home in no time when traveling up and down made for the most part of my day. Like most "Delhi" girls I preferred to walk the whole length of the platform to travel in the women's coach and spent the time gazing at everyone so uniquely categorized in their own worlds within their seats (in case they are traveling alone like me). Soon, I was joined by two of my fellow friends for a quick tour of the city which we did with pure diligence and dedication as if we were tourists. We managed to cover Jama masjid, Spice market of Chandi Chowk , Agrsen ki Bowli, Bangla Sahib, Hazrat Nizamuddin Auliya Daragah, Jama Masjid, India Habitat Center, Dilli Haat and a bit of window shopping through DLF malls. Mughal Architecture is extensively rich in India and especially in Mughal capitals like Delhi and Agra. Not going into the technical details of how architecturally sound they are, I want to share my touristy experience, the Dargah gave me goosebumps with its melodious harmony, and I had an epiphany that more than the majestic monuments, Delhi is made of its people. From high-end BMWs to Buses, you find people from every background intertwined into the rut of each working day comfortable in their skin. It is surprising, yet soothing how one gets used to the city. Each visit was another experience in itself, from the shrine of Islamic belief to the Bangla Sahib's serenity and Chandni Chowk with its quaint streets. The thing that I have spoken the least about is my undying pleasure received from food, and Delhi is a paradise for all kinds of food lovers although I found it to be more expensive when looking for a fine dining experience compared to Bangalore.

I spent the next few months concentrating on my short term goals and forgot the city completely while I was engrossed in struggling with my dreams, in no time I was back to my hometown and I started writing this blog trying to finish it for the past two months while facing my failures and trying to fight it, finally without much external validation I am on a new struggle with life. I hope you enjoy this piece as much as I did finishing it. I have attached a few pieces of the touristy part mentioned above. I will leave it to you to guess the places.




12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Opmerkingen


bottom of page