top of page
Writer's pictureAnushka Sharma

BLOCKBUSTER NOTES

There are some movies you watch on the go, some you need a popcorn, some make you cry, and some leave you speechless and lost in thoughts for days. The Friday Man and his dedication to watching movies and reviewing them gave me an idea to write this. Honestly, I have a wide spectrum of favorites when it comes to movies and music. I love watching entertaining rom-com and at the same time, I indulge in watching documentaries or Sci-Fi Movies. I have still not covered IMDBs top 100 movies of all times but here is a list of top 5 that stayed with me much longer than the movie itself. They taught me one lesson each, they were like a learning from the reflection of life, which I hold on to, till date.

1. Dead Poets Society - 1989

Carpe diem. Seize the day, boys. Make your lives extraordinary.

This story of breaking the rules empowered my scared dreams to Seize the day and follow them without apprehensions. The story was simple, but the dialogues delivered by John Keating to his students and the courage shown by the students pinched my soul.


2.The Butterfly Effect - 2004

The flutter of a butterflie's wings can cause catastrophes

This was a fiction thriller movie and one of my first in the time travel genre. Ashton Kutcher has the ability to time travel in this movie and he does so a million times to get himself and girl he loves a happy life only to realize that the best life they both could have was not together. The story was based on this one line that they showed at the beginning of the movie and which hatched on to my mind forever. I kept wondering how many ways our minor decisions shape the course of our life.


3.Dear Zindagi - 2016

Khul ke ro nahi paaogi toh khul ke hasogi kaise?

This movie was released while I was in my fourth year of undergraduate college and had still not understood mental health and its repercussions completely. Dear Zindagi is a dialogue between a therapist and his patient, who is like you, like me, and like every person who has or is going through depression. It unfolds mental health not as a stigma but as something that can be healed by self-awareness and positivity one day at a time. The freedom she feels after all her meetings are done was something invincible. This movie gave me an ounce of hope in times when my mental health was undetectable. I suggest this movie to anyone who is in denial or still figuring out whether to go for therapy or not.


4. In her Shoes - 2005

I carry your heart and I carry it in my heart

This is a story of two sisters who are poles apart and yet stand for each other through best times and worst. Even though the movie itself is no less than a comedy-drama, Cameron Diaz's Poem in the end and undying love between the two left me longing for more such movies.

5.Eternal Sunshine of a Spotless mind

Remember me. Try your best. Maybe we can.

This was a movie that left a mark on my dented mind for the longest time. It had so many layers hidden in the narratives and conversations reminding us of the fact that there is no escape from who we are. The protagonist realizes that their love is meant to be together despite the flaws, and the acceptance of existing discrepancies give them a fresh start.

Usually, the movies that touch our hearts are the ones that show us a glimpse of our lives the most. I have compiled this as another entry into my journal and as a way of expressing and organizing my thoughts better, going one backstory at a time.

47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page